Monster Missives

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want updates and other news?
Gimme your e-mail! Rowr!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-07-07 - 10:25 a.m.

Alright, I�m not really sure where this entry will go, mostly because I think I�m still hung-over from the 4th and 5th, so the brain, not really working for me.

Ahhh, Independence Day. Celebrating the birth of our nation by drinking and eating ourselves into oblivion. The party I went to on the 4th was fun, especially since I didn�t have to do anything but show up and drink, my kind of party. Then on Sat. I decided it�d be a good idea to host a party at the house, food, tequila, beer, pool, tequila, Frisbee, sparklers, tequila�hmmmm I�m beginning to see a pattern here. It�s an interesting phenomenon, when you get 15 or so people, all of whom are approaching 30; add copious amounts of alcohol and a pool that wackiness will ensue.

Now kiddies, I do not recommend drinking and swimming, we were cautious and we had a lifeguard on duty. Actually we really did (what luck!), so fun was had by all and there was nary an accident.

Well actually there were a few; I managed to accidentally whack the Lobster on the arm during an energetic round of water badminton. He proceeded to vigorously dunk me, so we�re even. Then began the rousing game of �Rock the Pool.� I�m not sure if y�all are familiar with this time honored tradition, but the �object� of the �game,� so to speak, is to have everyone, rapid fire, jump into the pool while attempting to make the biggest splash. If done properly half of the water should exit the pool at an alarming rate. Headed up by the Lobster, the Best Chest Warrior (BCW), Soccer J, and The Human Kazoo, I�m pleased to report the mission was successful.

I have to say that this party was just what the doctor ordered. As I alluded to in my first post, things are kind of crappy right now. My father was recently diagnosed with Alzheimer�s disease, the diagnosis came in a little over a year ago, though we had begun to suspect long before that. Since Alzheimer�s progresses differently for everyone we didn�t really know what to expect, unfortunately my father�s condition has worsened steadily. Also, my mom (Super Vague, if you�re reading this I�m sorry I haven�t been able to tell you first, but I just couldn�t find the right time) was just diagnosed with Adenocarcinoma. It�s a form of lung cancer, she had lung cancer 5 years ago, but they operated and she was given the all clear. This is a different kind, on the outside of the lungs on one of the lymph nodes, but it is NOT lymphatic cancer. The prognosis is very good, there is a 75% chance of complete remission with chemo and radiation treatment, but it�s still really scary. She�s finished her run of chemo (2 months) and she will begin radiation tomorrow with small treatments of chemo throughout. She�s hanging in there amazingly well. I�ve always known my mom is an incredible woman, but she has handled this with such grace and humor that I�m completely stunned by her daily.

So the party served a much greater purpose for me. I got to spend the day and night with some of my closest friends, just hanging out and not thinking about all the crap that�s going on in my life. So friends? Y�all are the best and those that couldn�t be there because of commitments or distance, you were deeply missed and very much thought of.

Happy 4th Folks!

Wondering:

Doing:

Wishing:

before - after

Pass me a note

Travel back in time

True Art - June 21, 2004
Car Again, Part the 12th - April 25, 2004
Badger - January 15, 2004
Gorilla-hand guys and skater boys - January 07, 2004
Hellooooo 21st Century! - January 05, 2004

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!