Monster Missives

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want updates and other news?
Gimme your e-mail! Rowr!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-07-11 - 10:58 a.m.

Warning might be possible spoilers for 28 days later, but maybe not, I�m not really sure what�s common knowledge and what isn�t. I�m not going into major detail, promise, but if you don�t wanna know don�t read. You have been warned.

So last night the Lobster and I went to see 28 days later. I�d heard mostly mixed reviews from people and read a scathing one on IMDB, for whatever that is worth, but we really enjoyed it. It was creepier that I expected, since I kept hearing people say �Oh, it�s not really a horror/thriller film, it�s more of a dramatic analysis of the human condition blah blah blah�.� I gotta say, while it definitely had that Danny Boyle �This is how people really act when life is shit� kinda vibe going on, the Infected were seriously Cree.Pee. I guess Danny Boyle shot it on digital film so it has that grainy, washed-out, end-of-the-world look. He's also got the stop motion thing working for him and he used it mostly on the Infected ("the Infected" is said with such drama during the film that I believe it warrants a capital �I�) so they appeared to move kind of like roaches, in really fast fits and starts and then Hello they�re all up in the camera. Yeesh.

That's the kind of creepy that affects me the most, you know the ominous feeling signaled by music and camera angles that clue you in that something terrifically bad is about to happen and then the quick jump cut accompanied by loud noise and squeal of the object of terror. That stuff really freaks me out. That�s right, I�m the girl that spent the entire showing of Jurassic Park either squinting through my fingers or clinging to the ceiling because that damn dinosaur kept popping up. (Ok, part of that could be because when Netha and I saw it the only seats available were in the front row so every time the T-Rex pounced onto the scene he was about 10 feet from our noses, very unsettling that.) What can I say, I'm a jumper.

Anyway...all and all the Lobster and I really enjoyed it, I think it's probably best, however, if you don�t over analyze the specific workings of the disease or the probability of it etc. Fully entertaining though, so I�ll give it the Monster rating of Closet Monster*.

And now an explanation of the Monster Missive rating system from lowest to highest:

Faux Monster- startling, but it�s just your older brother in a mask.

Translation: Not so good, save your pennies.

Window Monster- this is a mildly threatening monster, but it�s trapped outside and you�re inside safe and sound.

Translation: Ok, but I wouldn�t necessarily see it in theaters, maybe rent it or watch it on cable.

Closet Monster- we�re moving into the big guns here, he�s inside and you can see the closet door cracked, but if you move fast you can run over and shut the door, which of course saves you.

Translation: Pretty good stuff, not the best I�ve ever seen, but damn enjoyable.

Under-the-Bed Monster- you don�t mess with this guy, not only is there the threat of a monster arm reaching out from under the bed to grab you, you also can�t get out of bed for fear of the dreaded ankle grab.

Translation: See it, see it now and see it again.

So there�s my rating system and upon review I see I�m clearly losing my mind. Huh.

Cree.Pee.

Wondering:How I'm going to take a vacation

Doing:Not too much right now actually

Wishing:I were sleeping

before - after

Pass me a note

Travel back in time

True Art - June 21, 2004
Car Again, Part the 12th - April 25, 2004
Badger - January 15, 2004
Gorilla-hand guys and skater boys - January 07, 2004
Hellooooo 21st Century! - January 05, 2004

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!