Monster Missives

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want updates and other news?
Gimme your e-mail! Rowr!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

August 18, 2003 - 4:46 p.m.

So I�m back and hoo boy is it hot. When I left we were in the middle of a relatively mild summer and now that I�ve returned, it feels like we�ve descended into the 7th circle of hell (�cause of the heat, not the Dantean demons, work with me here.) It appears I just bring the crappy weather with me, like a little ray of sunshine, or a blazing blow torch surrounded by a wet wool blanket, as the case may be. In any case, I�m back and working on compiling my notes into some semblance of sense for this journal so stay tuned for the Northeast Adventure Diaries, complete with pictures, coming soon to Monster Missives.

In the meantime, to tide you over (since you were all, no doubt, waiting with baited breath for my next entry) I give you the following:

Courtesy of James Lileks (in the sense that he created it and I�m posting it) The Institute of Official Cheer.

Be sure to visit: The Gallery of Regrettable Foods

The Art of Art Frahm

and my personal fave The Grooviest Motel in Wisconsin Hee!

Actually everything on this site is hi-larious, so I encourage you to sniff around, just don�t get too close to the Country Pie. Mmmm�beef crust.

And then, to cleanse the palette (or possibly not), Star Spangled Ice Cream. Nothing says �American Summer Treat� like hatred and hostility, though major points for the funny. Be sure to scroll to the bottom of the page for the flavors and check out what�s in the works and see what others have to say. I�d like to think this was a joke, but it�s not. I do think the opening sentence on the home page is pretty funny, �Like millions of your fellow Americans, you enjoy ice cream but do NOT enjoy seeing your money funneled to wacko left-wing causes.� As someone who has recently returned from a visit to those Wacko Left Wing Ice Cream makers themselves, I can tell you they have new flavors in the mix to challenge the Uptight Right Wing Christian Coalition Ice Cream makers, Impeaches �n Cream-Rich vanilla ice cream with real, fresh peaches and pretzels, and Shredded Constitution-Chocolate ice cream with shredded coconut and a fudge swirl.

I�m totally kidding about that. (actually, I�m not) No, I really am kidding. (nuh-uhn, it�s all true) Not really. (yup) No.

Aaaand I�ve officially run a joke I didn�t even create into the ground, thank you very much.

Ok, I�ll be back tomorrow with the first installment of The Northeast Adventure Diaries.

Wondering:How I'm going to make my notes make sense to anyone other than me.

Doing:Catching up

Wishing:I were still on vacation

before - after

Pass me a note

Travel back in time

True Art - June 21, 2004
Car Again, Part the 12th - April 25, 2004
Badger - January 15, 2004
Gorilla-hand guys and skater boys - January 07, 2004
Hellooooo 21st Century! - January 05, 2004

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!