Monster Missives

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want updates and other news?
Gimme your e-mail! Rowr!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

August 19, 2003 - 1:32 p.m.

So I was going to start with my Northeast Adventure Diaries today, but I received some unexpected, amazingly excellent news and I thought I�d share.

My mom, as you may know from previous entries, has been undergoing radiation and chemo treatment for cancer. She�s been doing the radiation for 5 weeks now and she just had a follow up scan to see how she was responding to the treatment. She went in today after her appointment to hear the results; her doctor said that upon examining the scan that he saw nothing abnormal at all. The blob (that�s a scientific term, don�t you know) that was there, the one that started all this, was completely gone. All happy pink cells. She will finish up the 12 remaining treatments, for good measure, but her doctor said that it was looking like a cure. After she finishes the treatments she will go back for a follow up scan in 3 or 4 months to be sure they got it, and then periodic scans after that.

As you can imagine I�m ecstatic, though cautious since cancer is like kudzu it seems, what with the growth rate and all. Mom sounds ok, but the treatment is really taking its toll on her, as is to be expected I guess. She said she was thrilled, but she�d feel better about it once she feels better. I think she�s thinking that even with her medical situation (mostly) under control she�ll now need to focus more fully on Daddy and his situation, which isn�t improving any. But, I�m not going to talk about that today since this is the good news day. So hooray for my Mother, the strongest woman I know, and props to modern medicine and good doctors, I'd like to buy them all beers, though I'm not sure that modern medicine drinks beer, probably more of a wine type.

And on another note, since I�m a big lit. geek:

Elizabeth Bennet
You are Eliza Bennett from Pride and
Prejudice
! Yay, you! Perhaps the
brightest and best character in all of English
literature, you are intelligent, lively,
lovely-- in short, you are the best of company.
Your only foibles are that you stick with your
first impressions... and your family is quite
intolerable.

Which Jane Austen Character Are You?
brought to you by Quizilla

Kick Ass.

Thanks to mnvnjnsn for the link.

Tomorrow, The Northeast Adventure Diaries!

No really.

Wondering:If my mom would like a pedicure as a celebratory event, maybe just liquor.

Doing:Happy dance

Wishing:For this to be the cure.

before - after

Pass me a note

Travel back in time

True Art - June 21, 2004
Car Again, Part the 12th - April 25, 2004
Badger - January 15, 2004
Gorilla-hand guys and skater boys - January 07, 2004
Hellooooo 21st Century! - January 05, 2004

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!