Monster Missives

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want updates and other news?
Gimme your e-mail! Rowr!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

September 04, 2003 - 12:40 p.m.

Sorry for the long hiatus, but what with Labor Day weekend, being sick and general overworkiness, I haven�t had time to update. My bad, I suck.

But, without further ado�

The Northeast Adventure Diaries, Part II

Opera Chick and I awoke early (well, not quite as early as we planned, but what are you going to do) and prepared to undertake our grand quest, to find a little bit of Austria in Vermont. An epic adventure really, one that we were more than capable of handling. On the way we had to make a mandatory stop for coffee, and apparently a �Vermonster.� You see, the Vermonster is a donut-like food substance roughly 6 inches in diameter, seriously I could wear it as a choker, that thing was Huge!.

This picture doesn�t really show off its majesty, but hopefully you can see the logo, which appears to be an alligatoresque monster busting out of the �O� in Vermonster. Truly, the packaging is everything. Oh, P.S. that thing is nasty, so if you do feel compelled to purchase one, I wouldn�t really recommend ingesting it as it has some ingredient designed to suck every ounce of moisture out of your body and out of the 3 people sitting next to you.

Next stop, Mary Mary Quite Contrary�s house by the lake (you�ll get the garden reference shortly). Mary2 has this house by the lake, up north of Burlington, a beautiful spot, check out the picture�

Amazing huh? Totally gorgeous even with the hazy weather we were in the midst of. Now Mary2 has this garden�how does her garden grow (told you you�d get it)? Like Godzilla on crack this thing grows! Check out the mini (emphasis on the mini) harvest while I was there

Keep in mind that horizontal cucumber was rather big, though from what she said it was actually on the puny side. For scale with Mary2�s hands

So after nibbling in the garden, yummm�

We continued on our merry way, in search of a piece of history. Over hill over dale, through swamps of mud that tried to take my shoes�

Seriously, I nearly lost my flip flops attempting to capture the moment on film, you can�t really see, but my feet were filthy! Check out my left big toe, eeech!

So what was I trying to capture, and all for you dear readers? Our first sighting�

And, from atop a hill the glorious Van Trapp Family Lodge

remember, it�s

you�ve gotta be kidding me! They have managed to capture the feeling and atmosphere of a European village in the mountains of Vermont. No, they really haven�t. I mean it�s really pretty and all, but Europe? Not so much, maybe it�s another Europe, a Europe right in your own backyard. A magical place with fairies, where adults and children live in harmony, where cardboard Moose frolic in the fields

where horses stand dejected and clearly very hungry (check out those ribs on that poor guy!)

where innocent music books are given euphemistic titles�Dirty!

Ahhh�it is a wonderous place.

Screw the Van Trapps, we�re heading to Ben and Jerry�s, it�s time to Feed It. But before we can enjoy the myriad flavors of the wise men Ben and Jerry�s creation we must pay our respects

Quoth the Raven: �The Peach, she be dead.�

After ingesting more ice cream than the human body allows we began our trek back to Burlington, ice cream in our bellies, a song in our hearts and freaky little images of the Hitler Jugend on this painting skiing through our heads.

yeeee!

So to Burlington, town of the twin whale tales, no really, No. Really.

And just so proper respect is given, I took this picture with a disposable camera, as I was hanging out of Opera Chick�s car window, on the highway, going 65mph, in the driving rain and I lived to tell the tale. Heh.

Tomorrow in Part III of The Northeast Adventure Diaries, (really I will update, swear) what happens when you�ve spent all day trekking around Vermont, getting muddy, rained on and freaked out a little by the Van Trappyness of it all, after having too little sleep for too long?

Until tomorrow

Wondering:nothing much really.

Doing:"Working"

Wishing:For Ben and Jerry�s, Uncanny Cashew, yum.

before - after

Pass me a note

Travel back in time

True Art - June 21, 2004
Car Again, Part the 12th - April 25, 2004
Badger - January 15, 2004
Gorilla-hand guys and skater boys - January 07, 2004
Hellooooo 21st Century! - January 05, 2004

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!