Monster Missives

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want updates and other news?
Gimme your e-mail! Rowr!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

September 05, 2003 - 12:31 p.m.

As promised�

The Northeast Adventure Diaries, Part III

So after our grand expedition to parts north (of Burlington) Opera Chick and I decided to take it easy for a night. We got food and decided to revisit our wild youth by playing a little competitive �Inebriated Trivial Pursuit� the original genus edition. You know in the dark blue box with all the questions about Howdy Doody and boxers from the 40s, the one where no one born after 1960 has a prayer of knowing more than 10% of the correct answers? The one where you have to edit your answers based on the date that the game was made, 1982? Where none of the geography questions are still accurate? Yeah, good times. So the rules of the game, ahem:

Roll to see who goes first

Um��Drink�

For every question you get right, �drink�

For every pie piece question you get wrong, �drink�

Monster: Wait a minute, then every time either of us lands on a pie question we have to, um, �drink�

Opera Chick: You have a problem with that?

Monster: No, just making sure.

Opera Chick: Ok then.

Monster: Let the games begin!

So it began innocently enough, but things quickly took a turn for the stooopid. In order to capture the moment as it was, I give you stream of mostly-conscious-ness.

After a few �drinks�

Monster:You mean I�ve really gotten so old that I�m already so messed up that I don�t even want a �drink�?! Ooh, keep talking about what I just said, I don�t want to forget what I was saying, I want to write it down. Oh, (off of cigarette burning out in ashtray) damn I really wanted to smoke that! Oh, oh, oh, write write write, can�t forget, must write I can�t spell write. Damn homonym.

After a few more�

Monster: What African animal kills the most people?

OC:Uhh, well hippopotami, hoppopotamee, hippopotamuses, yes, that�s it, are really mean�and they have a two year gestation period.

Monster: Uh huh�and that�s why they�re so mean, �cause they�re knocked up for 2 years? How do you know that anyway??

OC:Oh, from my safari in South Africa. Uhhh�wait! We saw a rhinoceros with a baby, not a hippopotamus, so maybe it was�well, it�s either a hippopotamus or a rhinoceros.

Monster: Crocodile.

OC:Right! Crocodile, yeah yeah I knew that.

Monster: Pie piece.

OC:Yeah, but I got it wrong.

Monster:Yes, yes you did�you got it wrong, on a pie piece�

OC: Dammit!

Monster: Heh, look what you�ve wrought.

OC: Shut it and gimme that.

OC:What is the meaning of Quo Vadis?

Monster: You know I really regret never taking Latin.

OC: Really?

Monster: Yeah, like twice a week I think about it. You know my mom always said I�d regret not taking Latin.

OC: You should�ve listened to your mother.

Monster: I keep hearing that.

Several questions later�

OC: What�s the Latin name for the Northern Lights. Heh.

Monster: Oooh, I know that one! Aurora Borealis. Aww yeah, who needs Latin!

OC: What subject did Mr. Chips teach in Goodbye Mr. Chips?

Monster: Aww, hell I don�t know, Engligh?

OC: Hee! Latin.

Monster: Figures. Bastard.

Monster: Ok, here�s an interesting one, What is the root of all evil?

OC: Are you kidding??

Monster: Nope. That doesn�t seem so much like a trivia question, more of a philosophical discussion.

OC: Yeah, I think that�s kind of subjective.

Monster: Not according to Trivial Pursuit. Apparently, it�s the love of money.

OC: Good to know.

Monster: I thought so.

OC: Hey, do you remember when I last noticed the time?

Monster: Yeah, that was a really long time ago.

OC: It was a half hour ago.

Monster: Huh.

Next time on The Northeast Adventure Diaries, Part IV

What�s missing from Victoria Secret�s line of clothing? The eternal question about wine spritzers and CANADA baby!

Wondering:What truly is the root of all evil...I'm thinking Spandex.

Doing:Reliving the dream.

Wishing:I were playing Trivial Pursuit

before - after

Pass me a note

Travel back in time

True Art - June 21, 2004
Car Again, Part the 12th - April 25, 2004
Badger - January 15, 2004
Gorilla-hand guys and skater boys - January 07, 2004
Hellooooo 21st Century! - January 05, 2004

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!