Monster Missives

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want updates and other news?
Gimme your e-mail! Rowr!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

September 12, 2003 - 5:07 p.m.

Today�s installment of The Northeast Adventure Diaries will have to wait and become another day�s installment of The Northeast Adventure Diaries �cause I�m just not feeling the love for that right now. Actually, I�m not really feeling the love for anything right now, except maybe for this which completely kicks ASS. Thank you ever so much raven72d for this mood lifting and giggle inducing link. I think I could keep that episode of Mashimaro�s birth on a constant loop. It definitely ranks up there with the horses and you all know how I feel about the horses. Hee!

So this weekend I�m going to this party, I believe I�ll dub it Romance Along the Nile with Blue Lilies, (or whatever flower we can get that�ll kind of look like a blue lily, but not cost so much) in honor of Super Vague. You see, I�m a fundraiser and because of that I have to go to lots of events. These events tend to have a goofy theme, which frequently has little to do with anything actually going on at the event. A few years ago I was running an event that Super Vague and I called The Enchantment Under the Sea Prom, note, it was not a prom, not anywhere near the sea and not at all enchanting. We actually had, no matter how powerful my objections, a guy (read: beefcake) dressed as Neptune and this woman (read: buxom babe) as Oceana (pronounced OseeAhna) the Mermaid. You actually had to enter the Ball through this cave where Oceana was holding forth and spouting:

Oceana: Good Evening and Welcome to King Neptune�s Ocean Odyssey!!

Every damn time I walked through that stupid cave, on my way to talk to the caterer, our event planner or just running around putting out various fires (gotta love high maintenance donors), she would start in with:

Oceana: Good Evening and Welcome to King Neptune�s Ocean Odyssey!!

At first I�d let her say it, smile and go on my way, by about 30 minutes into the event, after I had run through her lair like 300 times, it was more like:

Oceana: Good Evening and Welcome to Ki--

Monster: Cram it Oceana, I work here.

Ahhh, good times.

Tomorrow night shouldn�t be quite as over the top, but still the idea of gilded, oiled up waiters passing around drinks in order to keep with the �theme��hang on�that might not be so bad�heh.

Actually, there won�t be any gilded waiters (mores the pity that), but it is Egyptian themed, whatever that will mean. Maybe the food will be displayed in a pyramid shape with dessert in the �burial chambers,� �clairs as sarcophagi, heh. At least I�m not working this event, so I can kick back, drink heavily and snark to my heart�s content.

Tonight, apparently, I�m headed to a Yo la Tanga show, just found that out. It should be fun if I can get my act together and actually get there. I�m optimistic though.

Wondering:Will anyone go to Romance along the Nile with Blue Lilies dressed as Cleopatra?

Doing:Watching Mashimaro...hee!

Wishing:My To Do list would actually get smaller instead of exponentially larger.

before - after

Pass me a note

Travel back in time

True Art - June 21, 2004
Car Again, Part the 12th - April 25, 2004
Badger - January 15, 2004
Gorilla-hand guys and skater boys - January 07, 2004
Hellooooo 21st Century! - January 05, 2004

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!