Monster Missives

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want updates and other news?
Gimme your e-mail! Rowr!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

November 05, 2003 - 1:12 p.m.

Well it just gets funnier and funnier over here let me tell you. So do you all remember when I wrote that terribly "funny" entry about all the little things in my life going to hell, well it ain�t over yet. I swear that damn chicken has called up some friends, picked up some beer, ordered pizza and decided to stay a while. What happened you ask? (Well, you probably didn�t ask, but I�m going to tell you anyway �cause it�s just great.)

My car, you know the one I just had work done on? Well, on Monday after work, I was heading to the bank to get some cash. It�s a 5 minute drive at the absolute max. The car had been fine, no weird noises, no leaking, no unresponsiveness, everything was fine. I�m cruising along since I needed to get home to meet a friend at 6.30, so I�ve been in the car about 3 minutes and I notice the Engine Coolant light comes on. �Well, isn�t that odd�, I think to myself. I take a look at the temperature gauge and it�s all the way in the red, �Hmmm, that can�t be good.� So I think, �Well, I�m 2 minutes from home, I�ll turn on the heat to try to cool down the engine and just get home; after all it�s a cool day, I�m not in traffic, I�ve only been driving the car for a couple of minutes and there haven�t been any problems earlier today, so it shouldn�t be a problem, right? Huh, now that�s odd, the air coming out of the vents is cold even though I�ve got the heat jacked up to Inferno, hmmm. Well, that probably doesn�t mean much.�

Heh.

I believe it was at that point that I noticed the steam beginning to belch from underneath the hood of the car. So, I hit the brakes, turn into the parking lot of the Fashion Care, turn off my car and wait for it to explode. So now I�m stranded, at 6.15 on a not even a little bit nice stretch at the corner of 'hood and a major commuter street, all dressed up in my cute little work outfit. So I call Paint Monkey, thinking that he lives nearby and can probably pick me up and be my Knight in Shining Armor for the day, sadly he was on his way to an appointment on the other side of town and couldn�t get to me. So I try a few others, some people aren�t home, some lines are busy, it�s getting dark and I�m completely stranded. That damn Chicken was apparently working overtime that night. Thankfully the Rockstar was home and rescued me and bought me dinner and more importantly beer. I decide that since the mechanic is closed by this point that I�ll leave the car overnight and call the mechanic in the morning and find out what I need to do.

So, bright and early on Tuesday I call my mechanic, tell him what happened, he assures me that it�s probably just out of coolant, so I should just substitute water and get it over to them and they�ll take a look. So I call Paint Monkey again, who steps in as my Knight, and drives me to my car. I have 2 very large water bottles that we proceed to pour into my, uh, coolant tank? We stand there a minute and notice that the water level is dropping alarmingly fast, in fact it�s just pouring out of the bottom apparently. Fantastic.

So, I call the nice folks at AAA, who assure me that a truck will be by to pick me up by 10.25 A.M., it is currently 9.15 A.M. or so and the weather is doing that fun misty/drizzly thing. I send Paint Monkey on his way, since he needed to get to work and I proceed to wait�in the charming weather, in my nice work clothes�and watch my hair turn into a clown wig, like it does when it�s really humid out. So, finally around 10.45 the AAA tow truck show up and he asks me what�s wrong with my car. So I describe the symptoms, and explain that I can�t figure out how there could be any kind of hole or leak, as my car hadn�t been leaking and I didn�t hit anything that might have caused a leak. He assured me that it sounded like a busted hose or valve which would be easy to fix and not very expensive. �Hooray!� I think to myself, �That would be terrific, cause I just spent $500 on the damn thing and I�m not looking forward to another expensive repair.�

Apparently the Chicken is psychic.

So we drop off the car at the mechanics, my mom comes and picks me up and loans me my dad�s car and I head into work. Weeee! At around 2.00 P.M. I receive a call from the mechanic:

Mechanic: Wow, your car really hasn�t been very good to you lately, has it?

Monster: Yeah, I noticed that�it�s not just a hose is it?


So, I�ve got a busted water pump, the antifreeze leaked all over the belt so that needs to be replaced and I, of course, need new coolant. How much is this going to run me?

$391.20

Everything just keeps getting better and better�

Wondering:If that whole 3 bad things happening thing applies to multiples of 3 as well, I'm at like 15 now.

Doing:Nothing, I've completely given up.

Wishing:All kinds of good luck on Super Vague and her new (or rather in the process of arriving as of this writing) niece!

before - after

Pass me a note

Travel back in time

True Art - June 21, 2004
Car Again, Part the 12th - April 25, 2004
Badger - January 15, 2004
Gorilla-hand guys and skater boys - January 07, 2004
Hellooooo 21st Century! - January 05, 2004

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!