Monster Missives

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want updates and other news?
Gimme your e-mail! Rowr!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

January 07, 2004 - 11:06 p.m.

I�ve been sitting here trying to figure out what to write about and I�m drawing a complete and utter blank. Sadly not that much has been happening lately, at least not much that would be exciting to any of you�unless, of course, you all have a burning desire to hear about the exciting world of grantmaking. No? Didn�t think so.

The last few nights I�ve been having the craziest dreams. I mean crazier than my usual dreams. Unfortunately, I didn�t have the foresight to write them down when I woke up, as I usually do when I�ve had a particularly enlightening, confusing, or just plain bizarre dream, so I don�t remember too much. I do still have that lingering feeling that you get when you�ve had a dream that just sticks with you. I don�t know if it comes from having a particularly vivid dream or a particularly vivid subject matter, but something just lingers. I can�t really remember the plot (although I do remember that it was terribly complicated and elaborate) or at least I can�t remember it to the extent that I�d be able to describe it with any since of accuracy. When I try to remember what happened I have these snapshots of scenes followed by the feeling that I had when I woke up, that this had been an incredibly real dream and that it really felt like it happened. That said, this is what I remember:

I was swinging on a rope swing that was suspended over a long, steep, grass and rock covered hill. At the bottom of the hill there was a huge stone wall that I needed to get over, the problem was there was a man, also on a rope or vine swing, trying to keep me from getting to the wall. He had one oversized hand, sort of a purplish-grey color, that was holding onto the rope/vine, the other hand was a gorilla-like, Sticky Hand thing. As I would swing towards the wall, he would fling out his giant, purply, gorillaesque, Sticky Hand and try to catch me.

At long last I managed to evade him and get over the wall, where I ran to this thickety bunch of branches that was hollow underneath, where I could hide. Hiding in the thicket already was my �boyfriend�, who, apparently is a blond, 18ish year old, skater guy. (I don�t have a clue what that was about since not only am I no where near 18 anymore, I don�t really have a fondness for the blond skater type, but I�m not really going to analyze that one.) This is where my memory starts fading on me, what I do remember about the rest of the dream is we were trying to get into this hospital�which may have been a mental hospital, but I�m not really sure�and we were trying not to be seen by these zombie creatures. If the zombies saw us then badness would follow, but there were these skeleton, ghosty things that were trying to help us avoid the zombies.

That�s about all I remember. I think my �boyfriend� (emphasis on boy) was caught and I know I ended up back on the other side of the wall at some point and had to try to get back over, avoiding the gorilla-hand guy, of course. When I woke up I remember thinking that the dream seemed so real and that it felt like it had lasted all night.

It�s exactly that sort of dream that makes me wish I could somehow film what I saw, because no matter how I describe it, even if I had managed to remember more than the scantiest details, it just wouldn�t do it justice. I mean I could feel what it was like swinging on the rope swing. I could hear the thwack of the gorilla-hand guy�s hand, and the sense of urgency that ran through the entire dream was palpable. When I finally did wake up, the dream stayed with me throughout the day. No matter what words I use, no matter if I could actually, somehow convey what happened, without seeing it and experiencing it there�s no way to make you see what it was like.

And now that I read over this entry, I�m thinking that might be a good thing. Yeesh, that one was a doozy.

Wondering:If I ever managed to rescue the "boyfriend" after all.

Doing:Playing Spider Solitare, computer game goodness.

Wishing:For "dream-cam"

before - after

Pass me a note

Travel back in time

True Art - June 21, 2004
Car Again, Part the 12th - April 25, 2004
Badger - January 15, 2004
Gorilla-hand guys and skater boys - January 07, 2004
Hellooooo 21st Century! - January 05, 2004

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!