Monster Missives

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want updates and other news?
Gimme your e-mail! Rowr!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-07-08 - 10:52 a.m.

You know that dream you have when you�re trying to run and you can�t. I don�t mean you�re frozen in place. You can actually try to run, but it�s like you�ve got the timing all wrong. Right leg up then down; left leg up then down, no�it�s right leg up left leg up; right leg down left leg down, no� Then all at once you get it, �Yes, THIS is what it�s supposed to feel like� then as soon as you think it, you loose all concentration and end up flailing and eating concrete again.

Well, I had that dream last night, except instead of trying to run I was trying to rollerblade. Actually, it was more of a forced rollerblading activity, kind of like Rollerball, except instead of a futuristic stadium and contestants in groovy streamlined gear it was me and a bunch of people I don�t know skating around a kind of foresty park on a chewed up concrete sidewalk. You know the kind with roots and grass pushing up through it?

The �anxiety� part of the dream began with the fact that since we were all in a line, front to back, holding hands and trying to rollerblade around this �track,� but you could only go as fast as the person in front of you, but the object of this �game� was to go as fast as possible. Now, as I mentioned before I was having a wee bit of a problem getting the rhythm down, so the people behind me were getting all pissed off and I kept losing my grip on the person in front of me. Suddenly, and magically as it is in dreams, I was alone still trying to skate along. It had become a pride thing I guess. I remember thinking that the problem wasn�t the sidewalk (oh, but it was), or my supreme uncoordination (it was definitely that too), but rather the fact I was on rollerblades, �If I were just on skates I could TOTALLY do this. Damn these new-fangled gadgets!�

Ok, here is where it gets really weird (no, it gets weirder, swear). So I come across this group of kids, they were kind of dressed like Eminem and all on rollerblades as well, kind of an urban skate rat, except these kids? They were like 6 years old and they�re TAUNTING me. I�m trying to justify myself to this city mouse playgroup, �It�s these crazy, new-fangled rollerblades! If I were on proper, 4-wheel skates I�d kick your ass!� (Keep in mind I�m saying this to a 6 or 7 year old.) I decide it�s the better part of valor to hold my head high and skate away and as I�m about to, I see 2 of my stuffed animals from when I was little sitting on this bench. These little brats stole them! So I, very dignified mind you, grab Barkus and Teddy, turn around and attempt to rollerblade away. Of course I still haven�t gotten it, the whole timing thing, so I look like Elaine from Seinfeld when she�s doing the dance, you know, but I�m holding my head up and I�m hanging on to Barkus and Teddy, those little ankle biters can�t have �em. So as I�m haltingly and jerkily moving away I feel water hit the back of my head, like from a water gun, and these two suction things attached to wires shoot out of the gun (from the 6 year old) and adhere to my shoulders. The Wee Harvey Oswald begins to cackle and crow that he�s going to take Barkus and Teddy from me and there is nothing I can do. I just looked at him, removed the suction thingies (how weird is it that �thingy� and �thingies� is in the Microsoft dictionary?) and Elained off. And then I woke up.

Anyone ever have that dream? No, just me then? Sweet.

Ok, as you were.

Wondering:What's really going on in my head.

Doing:Preparing for a meeting.

Wishing:That it was time to go home.

before - after

Pass me a note

Travel back in time

True Art - June 21, 2004
Car Again, Part the 12th - April 25, 2004
Badger - January 15, 2004
Gorilla-hand guys and skater boys - January 07, 2004
Hellooooo 21st Century! - January 05, 2004

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!