Monster Missives

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want updates and other news?
Gimme your e-mail! Rowr!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

August 26, 2003 - 4:32 p.m.

Sorry it�s taken so long for me to update this, there was an unfortunate knife sharpening incident, among other things, so I�ve been lax. No worries about the knife incident though, I�m all bandaged up, thanks to the Lobster and Paint Monkey and can now resume my normal routine, albeit with a mummy hand. So here we go�

The Northeast Adventure Diaries

It all began, at 4.45 in the morning�I remember it like it was yesterday�actually, no, I don�t, I was pretty much half asleep, but you get the idea. The �ber Lobster rose to the challenge and drove me to the airport in time to make my 6.45 A.M. flight. (Dear Sainted �ber Lobster) After checking my bags and sleepwalking through security, I made it to the gate and from there my flight to freedom.

I promptly fell asleep.

Arriving at Boston Logan Airport at 9ish, I wiped the sleep from my eyes and the drool from my chin and headed for the nearest coffee. Ahhh�sweet, life affirming, nectar of the gods. Now, mostly human again, I proceeded to wait, and wait. And. Wait. for my next flight to beautiful, downtown Burlington, VT. Upon my arrival at the gate, which was in a different part of the airport and had no means of distraction, I proceeded to people watch those around me. There was a group of travelers, say 20 or so, all in their 60s, possibly from Florida. (I say this because they were all quite tan and had accents reminiscent of that area) They were remarkably excited about the prospect of Maine lobster. They were so excited, in fact, that one woman, the undeniably most vocal of the group, who was clearly compensating for the fact that she was about 4� nothin�, continued to exclaim, �We�re just going to pretend like we�re already eating lobster,� while closing her eyes and doing just that. Keep in mind she was rapturously eating oyster crackers (her imaginary lobster), kindly provided by another member of the group, from one of those huge gallon sized zip locked bags. Do you think they believed they couldn�t get oyster crackers up North? Actually, they might have had a hard time with that as every one of them called them �lobster crackers.�

There were two girls next to me who appeared to be going to a wedding, I believe they were from New York City. They were completely unamused by the lobster contingent. They continually rolled there eyes to each other, made lots of overly loud �huh� noises (you know the kind that originate in the back of the throat) and spoke loudly on their cell phones about the lobster crew. I was rather amused by the lobster folks myself, they were all so excited, like little overly tanned lobster cheerleaders. Gooooo Lobster! (insert herky here) There were several platitudes that one of the gentlemen continually spouted, the only one I can remember verbatim is �Some people just can�t stand the good times.�

And that�s one to grow on.

So, I finally board the plane, no wait, let me rephrase that, I board the vehicle that could have been meant for flight, but it seems unlikely that it was ever intended for human travel and make my way to Burlington to begin the great adventure. Opera Chick picked me up from the airport and we were on our way�

�to her house. Actually it was all good, as I was so tired by this point I could barely keep my eyes open. We headed out to get some lunch and on the way we spotted this sign, which I considered the theme for my adventure.

I leave you with that.

Tomorrow, stay tuned for more from the exciting, illuminating and awe inspiring �

The Northeast Adventure Diaries, Part II: Electric Bugaloo

Wondering:Who came up with that name?!?

Doing:Typing one handed, please ignore the typos.

Wishing:I weren't such a spaz.

before - after

Pass me a note

Travel back in time

True Art - June 21, 2004
Car Again, Part the 12th - April 25, 2004
Badger - January 15, 2004
Gorilla-hand guys and skater boys - January 07, 2004
Hellooooo 21st Century! - January 05, 2004

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!